a furious dash to a full draft #dissertating #academia #academicabuse

July 21, 2014 § Leave a comment

I spent the weekend writing in a furious dash to get a full draft of my dissertation out the door by the end of the month. I have recruited Son2 as editor and he is working over chapters 1, 2, and 3. I am compiling chapter 4. Chapters 5 and 6 exist but are not in the latest version.

I have been working on this thing since September 2007. I passed my comprehensive exams in October 2010. I wrote 36 versions of chapter 1 for three years until I finally quit my abusive supervisor. However, quitting my supervisor did not get me out of the program and I have a new supervisor who says, “Quitting is not an option. You have worked to hard to stop now. Don’t spill the water on the doorstep.”

My weekend work wrapped up last evening with a full descriptive essay of all the data collected for the study. My next task is to write up what was in the data – a simple inventory of what people said. After that I can do an analysis of what people said.

I am a perfectionist and I have an OCD need for completion of collections. This was not a good study for me to be involved in because it was such a big undertaking – 3 years, 49 data collection events (with multiple subsets), an embedded case study, 162 in-class observations, 44 one to one interviews, 3 surveys, 3 questionnaires, 51 transcriptions, 5 focus groups and 26 ICT inquiry sessions. Way too much data to process for one dissertation.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a furious dash to a full draft #dissertating #academia #academicabuse at irrational persistance.

meta

