Sedimentations of family relations

June 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

I have enough recovery to realize that my attachments to family relations are layered in time limited sedimentations of memory and feeling. That is why the work of recovery is multi-directional and multi-layered. It is multi-directional because the gestalt of my experiences as memory are a composite of visible and invisible forces. Visible forces would be the immediate family members and public institutions (like school) who affected my day to day experiences. Invisible forces would be the unknown family histories of my parents and grandparents that continued to operate as belief systems or common practice in the family. Invisible institutional forces would be school policies or ‘normal’ school cultures that constrain the kinds of ideas, future imaginings or modes of connectivity that are possible amongst members of the school community. The memories and feelings that demand my attention today have nothing to do with the people in my family today — my siblings are no longer children or adolescents, my parents are now in their eighties.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sedimentations of family relations at irrational persistance.

meta

