I have been thinking about purchasing a small

October 19, 2008 § Leave a comment

digital camera, something I can carry in my pocket. My studio camera is just to big and valuable to be hauling out on my cross town trips to and from UBC. And yet, I can see that this approach to my scholarship, that is, thinking about it as puzzles in representation, is being helped immensely by thinking about it as a drawing or a painting. Thinking about a drawing or a painting and applying the same principles to my scholarship. The relationship between the simple and the complex, symmetry / asymmetry, contrast, juxtaposition, methods of rendering. Additionally, I do use digital technology to enable and enhance my learning, my writing and my drawing and painting. I don’t imagine all this puzzle sovling would be of interest to anyone in either the academic or the art disciplines. But, I have to say, I have a new buzz, a new excitement about what I am doing. I bought that software and the digital pen because I wanted to explore other ways of bringing my thoughts out of the realm of the bio-sphere of my mind/body and into the scholarly sphere of text on a page. How I make that transition is entirely my own devise. I am so tempted to run up to London Drugs right now and purchase a camera because I want to take pictures of these flower arrangements before they fade, they are emblematic of so much in my life right now. But I don’t have the money! I didn’t have the money for the software or digital pen either, so I am already paying interest on those purchases because I don’t have a hope of paying them off probably for many months. And yet, I don’t care! I have so much work to do, I have to make it work for me. I don’t want to be stuck, wasting so much time, just because I was short of cash. I know I shouldn’t be debting. I also know that the kind of effort it took to get my masters thesis written and my SSHRC proposal written is unsustainable and I have to find another way of getting this done.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I have been thinking about purchasing a small at irrational persistance.

meta

