I am really excited to be entering this new phase

October 18, 2008 § Leave a comment

of my scholarship. It feels like I am finally being given a chance to dig deeply into the meanings and purpose of what I have undertaken. To be able to read and write through all the complex issues. So, where does post-colonial and post-structural discourse come into my picture, my map? I have three main spheres of research:

1. Culture and Technology

2. Cognition

3. Learning

Within those spheres, I have identified phenomena that I want to research:

1. Culture and Technology -> Communication Theory -> Dialogic Processes

2. Cognition -> Consciousness -> Belief -> Enaction

3. Learning -> Pedagogies -> Literacies

I’m already tweaking the terms, one day after getting them down the first time. I suppose this is to be expected. If I was going to fit colonial / post-colonial discourse anywhere, it would have to be under section 1, I think, because of the relationship between technology and colonial thought. I’m not sure about this. Or does it work another way… well, what is the relationship between notions of superiority and technology-use? Is there a connection there?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am really excited to be entering this new phase at irrational persistance.

meta

